Tex Avery – "Big Heel-Watha"

5 Jun


I promised to get back to the Screwy Squirrel posts so here’s “Big Heel-Watha”. Red was revamped for the this one, appearing as Minnie Hot-Cha at the end. Also, Preston Blair used Heel-Watha’s sneak animation as an example in his original printing of Advanced Animation, and here’s a model sheet to go with it.

Uploaded by klangley
10 Responses to “Tex Avery – "Big Heel-Watha"”

  1. Anonymous June 5, 2007 at 12:38 pm #

    This is also the first cartoon with Screwy’s new look, don’t forget also.

  2. Kevin Langley June 5, 2007 at 1:18 pm #

    Right, I totally forgot.

  3. Anonymous June 5, 2007 at 7:20 pm #

    Which Screwy design do you happen to prefer? I prefer the original design.

  4. ryan June 6, 2007 at 1:07 am #

    i prefer the original design as well

  5. Kevin Langley June 6, 2007 at 1:57 am #

    I’ve always preferred the original design too but the newer one has grown on me over the years. Even if it’s a little ratty looking.

  6. Anonymous June 7, 2007 at 10:42 pm #

    Can’t wait for Happy Go Nutty!! That one is my favorite Screwy short.

  7. Anonymous June 13, 2007 at 12:10 am #

    Just to start a discussion, is there a LEAST favorite Screwy Squirrel cartoon anyone has? While I don’t hate Lonesome Lenny, I feel sorry for Screwy at the end. Not only does he die, but the also gets punched before his demise.

  8. Kevin Langley June 13, 2007 at 2:08 am #

    While I think all five Screwy shorts are really great, I think this one is the weakest. If only because I find Heel-A-Watha a little irritating. But for me they’re all among my most favorite cartoons.

  9. adma August 31, 2007 at 12:30 am #

    Heel-Watha leaves me thinking of Ron Jeremy, somehow. (The final “hot tub” scene helps.)

  10. Sketchees April 13, 2010 at 9:05 pm #

    Haha… i love the Droopy-like voice in this one.

    “Fiddle-dee-dee”

    “In a cartoon.. you can do anything!”

    Darn tootin'!

Leave a Reply

