Popeye Model Sheets

14 Aug

I finally got the Popeye DVDs the other day, my wife gave it to me for our anniversary. Ain’t she great. So now it’s time to post some model sheets of Popeye and the gang. I have to thank The Masked Stinker for hooking me up with some model sheets that I didn’t have and also much better copies of the ones I already had. Thanks Stinker! Here’s the main players for now and I’ll post some more real soon. These were drawn by animators Doc Crandall and Willard Bowsky. Read more about Doc Crandall in Ray Pointer’s comments in this GAC forum thread.

6 Responses to “Popeye Model Sheets”

  1. Bruce August 14, 2007 at 8:01 am #

    I got a copy of the 1976 edition of “The Fleischer Story”, and it doesn’t have that Wimpy model sheet their. Thanks for posting.

  2. Masked Stinker August 15, 2007 at 8:50 pm #

    Ahh, I was wondering when you were going to post some of these.Hope you have something to post that I haven’t seen.I have a later edition of “The Fleischer Story” and that’s where this Wimpy one comes from.

  3. Kevin Langley August 15, 2007 at 11:42 pm #

    I’m not sure if I have anything you haven’t seen. You actually gave me stuff I hadn’t seen.

  4. Bruce August 16, 2007 at 7:58 am #

    Thanks for the info. So which one should I pick up? The 76′ edition, or the late 80’s edition? I only ask this, because I got to return the 76 ed. at my local library soon…

  5. Masked Stinker August 17, 2007 at 11:30 pm #

    <>Thanks for the info. So which one should I pick up? The 76′ edition, or the late 80’s edition?<>I don’t know much about the ’76 version.In the forward to the ’88 edition to Leslie Cabarga says the ’76 version makes it look like Max didn’t do anything. And he changed the text to give Max more credit.Don’t know if any other images were added besides the Wimpy one I mentioned.

  6. Bobby Bickert August 20, 2007 at 1:48 am #

    It’s really worthwhile to have both editions. There are illustrations in the original edition that aren’t in the revised edition and vice-versa. I haven’t read the 1976 edition yet, so I don’t know how much of the text was changed.

Leave a Reply

