HaHa Comics – Throckmorton

24 May

I’m posting this comic in hopes that someone will be able to tell me who the artist was. I’m curious to see if it was by an animator or not.

6 Responses to “HaHa Comics – Throckmorton”

  1. human hyena May 24, 2008 at 6:25 am #

    I don’t….i enjoyed the comics though.

  2. Thad May 24, 2008 at 2:20 pm #

    Hmm, I almost said Bob Wickersham, because the lettering style looks like his, but seeing the human characters, it definitely is not. They sort of look like they’re from Friz Freleng’s cartoons, so maybe Ken Champin, Manny Perez, or Hawley Pratt (all did comic work).

  3. Kevin Langley May 24, 2008 at 2:33 pm #

    Thanks Thad. What comics did Pratt work on?

  4. Thad May 24, 2008 at 4:51 pm #

    Not sure as I’ve only been told of Pratt’s comic work by others. Barnyard Comics is a possibility.These stories don’t have substance, but they’re sure damn great to look at!

  5. warren June 11, 2008 at 1:10 am #

    I have no idea who did this one either. But, what I find interesting is that I can tell this was a rush job done by someone who knew what they were doing. They just didn’t have time to really get in there and beef up the drawings (check out the Tyer one you posted below – it looks like Tyer had more time for his).So my guess is this is someone who was moonlighting comics work…

  6. paul de vinny November 6, 2013 at 6:06 pm #

    I xeroxed the very same pages sent them to Robin Snyder and asked the same question. This guy’s GOOD. A fine sense of composition and great brush work.

Leave a Reply

