Baby Huey Comic

22 Mar

So, the other day I actually got off my ass and left my office during lunch to take a short trip up to the Museum Of Comics and Cartoon Art to check out he Harvey Comics exhibit. Not as large of an exhibit as I thought but the original art they had was amazing. A couple of pieces by Howie Post stood out immediately and a strip from Johnny Gentilella. I had my phone with me and snapped a couple of pics. Here they are along with a Baby Huey comic from Paramount Animated Comics #4.

I didn’t notice how bad this Gentilella pic came out until after I left. Damn.

13 Responses to “Baby Huey Comic”

  1. Nic Kramer March 23, 2009 at 1:51 am #

    Nice comic. That comic is included in Dark Horse’s recent Harvy Comics Classics Vol.4: Baby Huey book in B/W print.

  2. Bob Jaques March 23, 2009 at 2:40 pm #

    Do you have a photo of the John Gentilella art??

  3. Kevin Langley March 23, 2009 at 2:45 pm #

    Hi Bob, yeah but it came out fuzzy. It looks decent on the Blackberry but when opened full screen not so good. It was a Rags Rabbit strip. I’ll post it anyway though.

  4. Bob Jaques March 24, 2009 at 12:43 am #

    Thanks Kevin. Do you know the comic title and number of the issue issue where the art was published??

  5. Kevin Langley March 24, 2009 at 1:15 am #

    Nah, it might have said what issue on the info card next to it. I can’t remember. I plan on going back before the exhibit closes so I’ll double check then.

  6. Uncle Ernie March 26, 2009 at 2:40 am #

    I saw the show when it was at the San Francisco Cartoon Art Museum and I recommend anyone interested in seeing some wonderful art to take the time to go.

  7. teresa March 27, 2009 at 5:51 pm #

    Oh I love love love your blog!

  8. Thad March 29, 2009 at 11:07 pm #

    Ah yes, this classic. “TRYIN’ FLYIN'”, back by popular demand!

  9. ryan April 7, 2009 at 6:19 pm #

    hahaha awesome drawings

  10. Jassy April 18, 2009 at 3:05 pm #

    hi this my blog of cartoon animations and shorts and inspirational movies. Please take a look. If you found interesting please give a link to my blog.
    Thanks and regards
    Jassy

    http://jassy555.blogspot.com/

  11. Peter April 18, 2009 at 11:00 pm #

    Jerry Beck visited MoCCA yesterday to do a presentation on the Harvey comics cartoons. He was a really nice guy, but I was kinda surprised that he didn’t recognize me from the GAC website, despite the fact that I was with Nelson and Tom and a couple other GAC members.

  12. Kevin Langley April 19, 2009 at 2:36 am #

    I really wanted to go and hear Jerry. But I had hop a train home after work and couldn’t make it. I’ve never really spoken to him outside of buying a DVD from him, but I would’ve liked to have met him.

  13. Kathy January 6, 2010 at 3:35 pm #

    Mr. Langley,
    I happened upon your blog when searching for artists. I found the blog interesting. Are you a cartoonist? If so, have you thought of fine art prints of your artwork? Qoro, LLC is a fine art giclee printer in Delaware. I would be glad to send you some information if you are interested.
    Kathy Griffith – Qoro, LLC 877-470-4278

Leave a Reply

