Tex Avery – "King Size Canary"

17 Sep

I posted the first model sheet once before but I don’t think I posted the other one. If so it was a really low resolution copy. This one’s much better.

8 Responses to “Tex Avery – "King Size Canary"”

  1. Jack G. September 19, 2009 at 8:03 pm #

    Always looking for more Avery-related model sheets. These ones are pretty clean looking. Besides the Ed Benedict and Tom Oreb ones who worked on the others? I know I've heard but I forgot.

    Hey, how 'bout putting up those Betty Boop model sheets so I don't have to? Cartoon Gluttons want 'em!

  2. Josh Lieberman September 20, 2009 at 8:03 am #

    Thanks so much for posting these.

  3. Kevin Langley September 23, 2009 at 7:18 pm #

    Hi Jack,

    Claude Smith worked on the earlier ones, the more Disney like designs. Louis Schmitt and Irv Spence also did a bunch of model sheets. Michael Barrier mentioned in Hollywood Cartoons that these might have been the work of animator Walt Clinton.

  4. Kevin Langley September 23, 2009 at 7:20 pm #

    Oh, and Gene Hazelton did some layouts too.

  5. Weirdo September 25, 2009 at 5:36 pm #

    I love these model sheets. Very funny, but also cute and appealing.

  6. Jack G. September 25, 2009 at 8:55 pm #

    Thanks, Kevin.

    Read Barrier's book but didn't remember that bit. I plan to reread it at some point (as well as Of Mice and Magic.

  7. Pedro Vargas September 27, 2009 at 11:24 pm #

    I love this cartoon! I've always loved the design of the mouse! Thanks for sharing, Kevin!

  8. Anthony C. October 1, 2009 at 2:32 pm #

    Nice-sheets from one of my fave cartoons1

    I've always much preferred them designed this way compared to the way instructed at my school of doing a page of turn around, one of emotions, two of action. Not only do I feel my school's way is a drag but I usually find after a few sketches like these I'm more than ready to animate the character.

Leave a Reply

