Al Taliaferro – Donald Duck

18 Feb

Here’s a few Donald Duck strips by Al Taliaferro

9 Responses to “Al Taliaferro – Donald Duck”

  1. RooniMan February 18, 2010 at 5:14 am #

    Cool!

  2. Jan February 19, 2010 at 10:57 pm #

    Thank you for these, Kevin. They really made my day! I especially enjoyed the fourth strip from the bottom, as I had an experience just like Donald's several weeks ago. I was examining an aphid under a microscope in the Natural History Museum in London, and was horrified by what it looked like under high magnification! It had a repulsive head that looked like a horse's skull with a needle-like beak at the bottom, and it's body had wrinkles that looked like folds of fat. Without warning, it excreted a drop of honeydew, and I jumped away from the microscope as if somebody had stuck me with a pin! Reading that Donald Duck strip brought the experience back to me very vividly.

  3. Jack G. February 21, 2010 at 11:16 pm #

    I like that the dialog is minimal – just enough and let the images tell the rest.

  4. Kevin Langley February 22, 2010 at 1:49 am #

    That's exactly why I picked them Jack. Little to no dialog but there's great pacing in these little strips. I burst out laughing a few times when reading them.

  5. Rick Roberts March 4, 2010 at 4:13 am #

    The best entertainment with the Disney name has always been the comics. The gags were always great; I'll be forever baffled why they weren't this good in the cartoons.

  6. Kevin Langley March 4, 2010 at 4:27 am #

    Not sure why the cartoons aren't as funny. Maybe they should have had Jack Kinney direct all the shorts. His are always good for a laugh.

  7. Rick Roberts March 4, 2010 at 3:25 pm #

    Yes Kinney was the funniest director by far.

  8. esahC March 7, 2010 at 10:14 pm #

    While I agree with Kinney, I thought Jack Hannah made some good ones, especially during the mid 50's where Disney basically stop caring about the shorts…

  9. henry bo hawk April 29, 2010 at 4:08 am #

    thanks for this great blog!

Leave a Reply

