"Little Orphan Airedale" Model Sheet

13 Dec


I found this model sheet on my hard drive, don’t know if I scanned it from a book or found it online somewhere. At first I wasn’t sure what Charlie Dog cartoon it was from, I should have recognized the Porky Pig pose from the beginning of “Little Orphan Airedale”. I noticed that Dave Mackey’s site didn’t have the production number listed for the cartoon and that this model sheet had it. “The Foxy Duckling” was production number 1031 and “Airedale”, production number 1032 was released two months later. I’m sure this info is probably known to the hardcore animation geeks but I hadn’t come across it anywhere. Dave’s site is where I usually go for that type of info so I was suprised the number wasn’t there as I assumed this model sheet has been published somewhere before.

7 Responses to “"Little Orphan Airedale" Model Sheet”

  1. Steven M. December 13, 2010 at 7:30 pm #

    I love that cartoon.

  2. Tom Ruegger December 14, 2010 at 1:35 am #

    beautiful drawings. thanks for posting.

  3. Mykal December 15, 2010 at 11:48 pm #

    Man, from these sheets I can just see that cartoon!

  4. Devon December 16, 2010 at 4:41 am #

    Production started around December 1945 (The clue being 'The Foxy Duckling' model sheet).

  5. Eric Noble December 19, 2010 at 9:49 pm #

    That is FANTASTIC!!! I love the Charlie Dog cartoons!! They are still hilarious to watch! Thank you kevin for sharing these with us. Where do you find all of these old model sheets?

  6. Kevin Langley December 19, 2010 at 10:01 pm #

    Hi Eric, most are scanned from books I have and a bunch are just from surfin' the web.

  7. Beninski January 13, 2011 at 6:55 pm #

    What a coincidence. We both like Charleston Chews. Do you dare to check out my blog at http://www.blogger.com/profile/11973991951205496780

Leave a Reply

